التاج يوضع على السن أو الزرعة ليعطي الشكل، الحجم والمظهر الأمثل للسن. التاج يوضع على السن ليحميه من الكسر تحت الضغط من قوة القضم. 

 

 أنواع التيجان:

● التاج المؤقت

طبيب الأسنان يوفر لك تاج مؤقت لمنع الضرر بالسن والحساسية أثناء انتظارك لصنعه من قبل المختبر بعد إجراء قوالب (طبعات) من أسنانك. وهذا يسمح للمريض باختبار الشكل الجديد للسن أو حجمه وبما في ذلك الإطباق والصوتيات (نطق الكلمات إذا كان السن أمامي).

 

● التاج النهائي

١. تاج مبني من البورسلان (الخزف) المتحد بالمعدن
هذه التيجان أكثر شيوعاً كون خليط المعدن المستخدم يعطي قوة عالية للخزف مع إعطاء نتيجة جمالية. هذه التيجان تستخدم للأسنان الأمامية والخلفية على حد سواء. يتم مطابقة لون الخزف لأسنانك المجاورة. ولكن في حالات نادرة (في ظل قوة العضة) من الممكن كسر جزء من الخزف. وفي حالة تراجع اللثة، يمكن أن يظهر خط مظلم نتيجة انعكاس المعدن.

 

٢. تاج مبني من البورسلان (الخزف) والخالي من المعدن
هذا التاج يقدم أفضل الألوان الطبيعية. من الممكن استخدامه للأشخاص الذين يعانون من حساسية المعدن (وهو نادر الحدوث). ومع تقدم تكنولوجيا الخزف أصبحت هذه المادة أكثر شيوعاً مع تحسن مقاومتها للكسر وتستخدم عادة في المنطقة الأمامية للحصول على نتائج جمالية عالية.

 

٣. تاج مبني من الذهب
 يستخدم هذا التاج لتغطية كامل السن أو جزء منه. من ميزاته أن السن لا يحتاج إلى كثير من التحضير وهذا يعني أننا نحافظ على جزء أكبر من السن الطبيعي. وأيضاً، هذا التاج لا يُبلي الأسنان المقابلة عند الاحتكاك. عيبه الوحيد أن لونه لامع، وبالتالي، فإنه عادة يكون خياراً جيداً للأسنان الخلفية البالية.

 

٤. تاج مبني من مادة ”الكمبوزت“

هذه تيجان جمالية يمكن استخدامها في حالات خاصة. مزاياها تشمل الحاجة لتعديلات بسيطة لإعداد الأسنان قبل صنع التاج من قِبَل المختبر، ولكنها من الممكن أن تبلى مع مرور الزمن لذلك يمكن توفير واقي لحماية التيجان. من الممكن إصلاحها بشكل بسيط إذا لزمت الأمور من دون الحاجة لتبديل كل التاج.

 

٠٥ تاج فوق الزرعة 

يتم تثبيت التاج فوق الزرعة ببرغي خاص أو لاصق الجسور

هو حل ثابت للتّعويض عن الأسنان المفقودة.

أنواع الجسور:

١. الجسور المثبتة بمادة "الرزن": هذه الجسور لاصقة لا تحتاج إلى إعداد الأسنان المجاورة  للفراغ (مكان  الأسنان المفقودة).

٢. الجسور التقليدية: هذه الجسور تتطلب إعداد الأسنان المجاورة  للفراغ (مكان الأسنان  المفقودة).

٣. جسور مثبتة على زرعات: تُدعم هذه الجسور من قبل الزرعات.

 

توضع هذه الأوجه التجميلية للأسباب التالية:

١- قناع للتشوه في الأسنان

٢- بناء الأسنان المكسورة أو الرديئة

٣- تحسين جماليات الأسنان المنحرفة من دون الحاجة لتقويم الأسنان
 

المواد المستخدمة لهذه الأوجه:

١- مادة الكومبوزت (يبنى السن في العيادة من دون الحاجة إلى مرحلة تصنيع في المختبر)

٢- الخزف ( يتتطلب تحضير الأسنان وتصنيع الوجوه التجميلية في المختبر)

A dental crown is a tooth-shaped ‘cap’ that is placed over a tooth or implant to restore its shape, size, and appearance.  On natural teeth, crowns are placed to protect the tooth from fracture under biting forces.

 

Types of crowns:

 

Temporary/ Provisional crown

After tooth preparation for a crown, your dentist will provide you with a restoration to prevent tooth damage and sensitivity while you wait for your crown to be fabricated by the laboratory after moulds (impressions) of your teeth are made.  This will also allow you to test out aesthetics (new tooth shape or size) and function including the bite and phonetics.

 

Definitive crown

1. Porcelain fused to metal crowns

These crowns are most commonly used for both anterior and posterior teeth as their colour is matched to your adjacent teeth.  The underlying metal provides the brittle porcelain material strength.  The porcelain portion rarely can chip or break-off especially under high biting forces.  The metal underlying the crown’s porcelain can show through as a dark line at the gum-line if your gum is thin or if your gum recedes.

 

2. All ceramic crowns

These provide the best natural colour match in comparison to any other crown type and are suitable for people with metal allergies (this is however rare) and high aesthetic demands.  The Improved technology of porcelain allows for better fracture resistance.  They are commonly used in the anterior region.

 

3. Gold crowns

Compared to other crown types, less tooth structure needs to be removed, and tooth wear to opposing tooth/teeth is kept to a minimum.  They are used for full or partial coverage of the tooth.  Its main drawback is its metallic colour; therefore, it is usually a good choice for out of sight posterior teeth (Molar teeth).

 

4. All resin crowns (indirect resin restorations)

They are aesthetically pleasing crowns that can be mainly used in tooth wear cases.  Their advantages include that they require minor tooth preparation and are less expensive than other crown types, however, they can wear down over time. An occlusal night guard would be recommended with careful monitoring.  If they chip during function, chair-side repair is possible.

 

5. Implant crowns

They are placed to replace a missing teeth over implants. They can be screw or cement retained.

A bridge is a fixed restoration that replaces missing tooth/teeth. 

Types of bridges:

1. Resin retained bridge

These are adhesive bridges that do not require tooth preparation of adjacent teeth

2. Conventional bridge

This type of bridge requires tooth preparation of the adjacent tooth/teeth to the missing space/s.

3. Implant bridge

This bridge is supported by implants.

Veneers are shells of material that are used to:

1- Mask discoloured teeth

2- Build worn down and broken teeth

3- Improve aesthetics of mildly misaligned teeth without the need for Orthodontics

 

The materials used for veneers can be:

1- Composite resin (completed chair-side)

2- Porcelain (laboratory stage of fabrication needed)